Archive | 11:44 pm

DIY Felt and Button Crown

28 Nov

Alright, so first official blog post! This one will be fairly short as I didn’t take any photos of the process. (I’ll make up for it, I promise!) This was something I did last week to use as a prop for a family portrait photo shoot I did for some clients. It was super easy to do, although it did take some time and patience. And, if I do say so myself, I think it turned out pretty cute!

What you’ll need:

  • felt fabric (cut into strips between 3 and 5 inches wide – depending on how tall you want your crown)
  • buttons (any will do)
  • needle
  • thread (to match your felt)
  • scissors
  • fabric square (or a book corner or anything else with a nice square corner)
  • marker, pen, writing utensil in general

Time from start to finish: About 3 hours, but I spent most of that time beading the lower edge.

Step 1:

Cut your felt into strips of your desired width. Make sure it’s also long enough to wrap around your head. For mine, I had to sew two lengths together to make it long enough.

Step 2:

Layer up your felt. You can glue it together, or use double sided tape, even, to keep the pieces in place. You will want two pieces of felt sandwiched together for more structure – one layer is a bit too flimsy to keep its shape.

Step 3:

Trace triangles along the top of the strips with your marker using your square (or book) as a guide. Try to make the triangles match up from one side to the other. This will make it easier when you sew the ends together. When you’re done tracing, cut along the lines.

Step 4:

The next thing you will need to do (if you haven’t glued the felt layers together) is sew along the bottom of the strips to keep the inside and outside layers from coming apart. You can also sew along the top edges as well, although I chose not to. I hand sewed mine, but if you have a sewing machine, it will go a lot faster.

Step 5:

Start decorating! I used buttons and glass beads to decorate mine, but you can use pretty much anything – rhinestones, feathers, ribbon, cut-out felt shapes, sparkle glue, seashells, etc. The possibilities really are endless.

If you’ve used this tutorial to create your very own felt crown, I’d love to see photos! Feel free to send me the results of your adventure.