Painted Feather Christmas Decorations

5 Dec

Painted feather

So for Christmas this year I decided to make some ornaments for my tree. Not your typical decorations, though. I wanted to use feathers. I have a slight obsession with feathers (as you may come to see as this blog continues), and I wanted something that’s both unique and pretty to adorn my tree.

That’s where these came in. They were super simple to make, and can (obviously) be done with any design on them and in any colour to match your already existing holiday decor. My colour scheme is black, blue, white, and silver, so I stuck to these colours for all of mine.

What you’ll need:

  • feathers (colour depends only on your preference)
  • acrylic paint (again, colours depend on you)
  • small paintbrush
  • rhinestones
  • glue (I used Aleene’s Jewel-It Embellishing Glue from Wal-Mart’s craft section)
  • thread/string
  • scissors

sup

Time from start to finish: A single feather took me about 30 minutes, including time for everything to dry between steps. (It will go a lot faster for multiples if you set up a sort of assembly line and do all painting, etc at the same time.)

Step 1:

The first thing I did was paint on the snowflakes. I used a pretty small brush to do this, and free-handed them. Of course, you can always use a template or reference if you want fancier snowflakes or have trouble drawing them from memory. It’s best to use a colour that stands out from the feather, but still complements the colour. Let your paint dry before moving on to the next step.

Step 2:

After the paint dried, I put small dabs of glue where I wanted the rhinestones to go. I used 3mm gems in clear (white) and light blue. I carefully placed the rhinestones on the glue using my fingers (although it may be better to use tweezers or some other precision tool as it’s not as messy), and let them set in place before moving on.

Step 3:

Last step! Now all you have to do is tie a string (or ribbon, or even wrap a small wire) around the end of the feather with a loop so that it is ready to hang wherever you please. Now you’re done!

So this project was really easy, and I hope it helped inspire you to do some cute and unique feather decorations for your own home. I have a firm rule against putting up my tree until two weeks before Christmas, so when I do put it up, I’ll add some more photos of the other feathers and how they look in action.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

